Worshipful Company of Cordwainers

And the trophy goes to . .

Posted by: JHM Date: 16 Oct 2018

The Cordwainers National Footwear Student Awards are now in their fifth year and the celebration this year exceeded expectations.

‘Be passionate about your work’, said keynote speaker Camilla Elphick and passion, dedication and imagination shone through the entrant’s submissions.

Winner Barbara Fiedler Weirszewska of the London College of Fashion said, ‘ It’s a dream come true to have won this award. There are so many amazing students and to be a winner is so unexpected! The Cordwainers Awards is the pinnacle and you know you’ve reached it when you win!’

The 2018 winners

Master Patrick Peal, Barbara Fiedler and Camilla Elphick.

Many congratulations to all our finalists for their dedication and hard work.
We salute the winners:

1st Prize   Barbara Fiedler Weirszewska      London College of Fashion
2nd Prize   Yunfei Ma                                             London College of Fashion
3rd Prize   Edina McClelland                               De Montfort University

Commendation 1: Orla O’Hagan                      De Montfort University
Commendation 2: Xiaoyue Wei                        London College of Fashion
Commendation 3  Joseph Ling                          De Montfort University

Download a full list of the finalists and their work.

The trophy

The Cordwainers have commissioned British design studio Yunus and Eliza to create a new trophy for the 2018 ceremony. This beautiful sterling silver trophy embodies a spirit of design, innovation and creativity.
Read a more detailed press release about this stunning trophy here.